Posted by: iocott | April 14, 2010

The stuff that legends are made of

*pls click on the Getting To Know Sabah tab above to get to the intro page.

Heard of Mount Kinabalu? (Kadazandusun: Nuhu Kinabalu; Malay: Gunung Kinabalu)

Yes, this mountain is in Sabah and a national park has been built around it due to the mountain being a stellar object of tourist attraction. This national park is known as Kinabalu National Park and for nature lovers, the national park, mountain and surrounding areas have a lot to offer. The closest town that can be found near the mountain is Ranau.

(More available reading after the pictures below)

A view of the mountain as you're trekking up to Laban Rata (the final stop before your climb to the peak begins)

Bird's eye view of Mt. Kinabalu

Climbers making their way up to Low's Peak

This mountain is also the highest we have in Malaysia.  Its summit, Low’s Peak, is 4,101 meters (13,455 ft) above sea level. It’s the perfect trail for trekking enthusiasts. From first hand experience I can say that it took a whole day’s journey (approx. 6-8 hrs) of walking and frequent stops to get to the final stop before the actual climb really begins. Now, I’m speaking from a petite female’s point of view. I was 18 at the time and hardly had any exercise after months of erratic sleep patterns and unscheduled meals. So I’m sure a lot of you would do much better than I did. I never reached the peak of the mountain, yeah, shame on me. Lol! Well, if you’re fit and all it would be a beautiful experience, the view is quite amazing and breathtaking. I’m sure the bird’s eye view from the top of the mountain would have been more gratifying but.. you know. So, say you begin the journey from the foot of the mountain on Friday morning, and you get to Laban Rata (the final stop before the climb) by Friday evening you would’ve to prep up for the climb by early AM of Saturday. When I say early, I mean eyelid ripping early. I remember having to wake up at 4am and going for a quick wash to get ready for the climb which had to be done before a certain time to avoid the heavy fog and mist.  And now you know why I never took the climb.


Leave a comment

Categories